The new Geelong Library & Heritage Centre is built on the site of the original Geelong Volunteer Fire Brigade Station (built in 1857). The station was removed in 1918 as part of improvements to Johnstone Park and a garden inhabited the site until construction began on the new municipal library in 1958.
The Geelong Historical Records Centre was established as a memorial to two historic events of 1951: the centenary of separation of Victoria from NSW and the 50th Jubilee of Federation. The citizens of Geelong raised the capital funds for the centre with the express wish that it be the repository for local historical records.
The centre first opened to the public in 1979 and, with the help of a dedicated team of staff and volunteers, collected and sorted all manner of archival material. They transferred popular records to microfilm, catalogued and indexed public and private collections, and attracted more and more researchers until the centre became the largest regional archive and historical resource centre in Victoria.
In 2003, the Geelong Historical Records Centre became the Geelong Heritage Centre and entered a new era of technology. New research techniques and methods of accessing and synthesising information were embraced. In recent years large-scale digitising projects have been undertaken to provide easier access to records and to help preserve original archival material.
With the move to our new home, the Vault, Kim barne thaliyu, on level 3 of the Dome, we have entered a new phase of our evolution. A spacious, modern environment and state-of- the-art technologies make our collections more accessible than ever. We now offer an exciting, information-rich experience for researchers, visitors and browsers.
Back to Heritage